Search the Baltimore County community newspaper archives

>> Click here to search for stories published AFTER 2011

>> Use this search box to find stories published prior to 2011.
Note: All Words is a more strict search. Implied operator is "AND."
Ex: Charles Dickens"

subscriber services email print comment

When members of the Jarrettsville Volunteer Fire Company got together Saturday to celebrate 81 years of community service with an awards banquet Saturday, they dedicated the evening’s festivities to their comrade, the late EMS Captain Emeritus Thurman Ellis, who died Nov. 30, 2010 at 87.

Capt. Ellis was a life member and was one of the first of two Jarrettsville members to be inducted into the Harford-Cecil Fireman’s Association Hall of Fame.

“Thurman was one of the people who really made me feel welcome,” EMS Chief Mike Hays said. “To many people, he was the EMS division. He was always available and always ready to help.”

In Capt. Ellis’ honor, the fire company created a new award this year: the Thurman B. Ellis Memorial Award for Service, which in its first year was presented to 54-year member Fred James.

This award will not be given out every year. Rather, the honor will be bestowed upon only those who go above and beyond the call of duty.

James was also named one of the top 10 EMS responders for 2010. He tied Mike Hays with 69 calls.

Among other top EMS responders, Bryan Schultz had 88 calls; Ben Kurtz, 99; Andy Hays, 116; Larry Bishop, 131; Debbie Woodfin, 158; Ernie Tracey, 161; Ted Burkhardt, 163; and Rick Tauson, 71.

John Lassack secured the top spot again this year, responding to 248 calls for service.

“We, as a fire company, are dependent on our members to get the job done. We are fortunate to have a group of people willing to do this,” Mike Hays said as the EMS awards concluded.

On the fire side, the top 10 responders for 2010 included Larry Bishop, with 200 calls; Bill Poole, 201; Ted Burkhardt, 205; Travis Graybeal, 213; Steve Townsend, 226; John Simpson, 235; Russ Harkins, 310; Allen Henderson, 316; and John Lassack, 328.

Ben Kurtz was the number one fire responder, with 427 total calls.

In 2010, Jarrettsville Volunteer Fire Company responded to 473 total fire and rescue calls and 947 total EMS calls.

A member of the Jarrettsville Volunteer Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary was inducted into the Harford-Cecil Ladies Auxiliary Hall of Fame.

Ruth Ann Poole presented the award to Pauline Winskowski.

“She has been a member for 50 years, but has been active for 40 years. She has served on many committees. She can always be seen working at the craft shows and serving at the dinners. She attends the meetings almost every month. She has served on many fundraising events. She was honored for being a past president in 1979,” Poole explained.

“Thank you, all. This is a surprise,” Winskowski said upon receiving her honors.

Winskowski was also recognized for 40 years of active service to the fire company.

Fellow Ladies Auxiliary member, Chloe Bergman, was honored for 65 years of active service.

The following members were also praised for their years of service to the company:

o Five years of service: Michael Hogan, Bryan Schultz, Charles Schultz and Travis Graybeal;

o 10 years of service: Larry Bishop, Mike Dorn, Matt Lancaster, Bob Tharp and Steve Lancaster;

o 15 years of service: Greg Grove, Leslie Porter, John Schmidt and Rudy Walter;

o 20 years of service: Ray Kozlowski;

o 35 years of service: John Simpson III;

o 45 years of service: Gladden Kurtz and Don Robinson; and

o 55 years of service: Bill Poole Jr.; and

o George Cairnes, who was not present at the awards ceremony, has served the company for an amazing 70 years.

The 2008-2010 Award for Service to the Jarrettsville Volunteer Fire Company as a Community Director went to Phil Stevenson, and outgoing president, Jim Bair, was lauded for his “unselfish dedication, loyalty and service.”

The 2011 officers were also installed during the ceremony.

The Jarrettsville Volunteer Fire Company Board of Directors for the year are Ted Burkhardt, president; John Lassack, vice-president; Laura Barwick, treasurer; Denessa Fruhling, secretary; Don Rinaca, 1-year director; Nancy Dorn, 2-year director; and Jay Silvestri, 3-year director.

The Ladies Auxiliary president for 2011 is Malea Daughton. She will be supported by Vice-President Donita Dietz, Recording Secretary Jennifer Eckard; Corresponding Secretary Connie Martin; Treasurer Carol Bair; Chaplain Robbin Graybeal; and Historian Kim Bishop.

The Jarrettsville Volunteer Fire Company EMS Division will be led by Chief Mike Hays; Captain John Schmidt; Lieutenant 7-9-1 Ernie Tracy; Lieutenant 7-9-2 Joan Chapman; EMS Secretary Ken Sterner; EMS Engineer Cathy O’Neill; and sergeants Andy Hays and Logan Cullan.

The 2011 Fireline Officers include Chief John Simpson; Deputy Chief Ben Kurtz; 1st Assistant Chief Rudy Walter; 2nd Assistant Chief Steve Townsend; Captain 7-1 Dave Pullen; Captain 7-2 Craig Messenger; Captain 7-3 John Cooney; Lieutenant 7-1 Bryan Schultz; Lieutenant 7-2: Dan Budacz; Secretary Charles Schulz; Fire Engineer Ray Kozlowski, and sergeants Chad Haden, Greg Osik, and Adam Testerman.

Elected officials Councilmen Chad Shrodes and Joe Woods, Del. Wayne Norman, Clerk of the Court Jim Reilly, and Sen. Barry Glassman, were on hand to distribute proclamations and citations to Fred James, John Lassack, Ben Kurtz and Pauline Winskowski, in honor of their individual achievements.

Claud Gamble, past chief of the Jacksonville Volunteer Fire Company and the evening’s master of ceremonies, delivered closing remarks.

“If you just total up the years of service presented tonight, 505 years were recognized tonight,” he said.

“We are trained to protect life and property,” Gamble continued. “Train, train and train some more and everyone goes home.”




[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /var/www/html/archives-explorer/blocks/footer.php on line 24: file_get_contents( failed to open stream: Connection refused